Candidate Filing For 2024 Primary Election Now Open


In Texas, the filing period for prospective candidates to file for a place on the ballot in the Republican or Democrat Party Primary Election on March 5th began on Saturday, November 11th.  The filing period will continue through December 11th at 6pm.

County offices that will be up for election in 2024 include Sheriff, County Attorney, County Commissioners for Precincts 1 and 3 and Justice of the Peace in some, but not all, counties.

Candidates who have announced their plans to seek election include Debbie Clifton and Cody Crouch who have filed as candidates for the Precinct 3 McCulloch County Commissioner post.  Mason County Sheriff Joe Lancaster has announced he will seek re-election to that post.

Wes Virdell had previously announced plans to seek the nomination for District 53 State Representative.  Incumbent State Rep for District 53, Andrew Murr announced Nov. 20 he will not seek re-election to that seat.

The March 5th Primary will also include candidates for President;  the U.S. Senate seat held by Texas Senator Ted Cruz; all U.S House seats, including Texas District 11 held by August Pfluger; all Texas State House seats including District 53 held by Andrew Murr. Also on the ballot will be some seats for the Texas Senate and various state-wide or regional offices.

Prospective candidates interested in running for one of the seats up for election on March 5 can obtain information from their County Clerk or their County Republican of Democrat party chairman.