Palacio Resigns As Mason City Administrator, Velez To Challenge Bartlett For Mayor


At their meeting Tuesday night, the Mason City Commission’s first task was to approve the resignation of John Palacio as the Mason City Administrator.  Palacio is leaving the City to work for the Lower Colorado River Authority.  He will remain with the City through March 27th.

Along with accepting Palacio’s resignation, the Commission also approved a process for filling the City Administrator vacancy. The City will first solicit candidates for the post from the local area.

Also on the Commission agenda Tuesday night was consideration of bids for concrete work, ramp and step placement for various locations on the Town Square.

The period for filing to be a candidate for one of the three seats on the Mason City Commission that expires this year ended on Friday, Feb. 16.  City Commissioners Robert Rayburn and Michael Keller both filed for re-election and both are un-opposed  in the May 4th Local Election.  Mayor Frank Bartlett will be opposed in his bid for re-election by District 2 City Commissioner Anna Velez.

Three members of the Mason ISD Board of Trustees have terms expiring this year. Tina Navarro, District 1, and Joe D. Langehenig , District 2, filed for re-election and will be un-opposed. Ryan Jordan chose not to seek re-election to the District 3 seat on the Board. Pam Kruse filed for the District 3 post and will also be un-opposed in the May 4 election.