Gomez Wins Brady Council Seat, Garcia-Griffin Run-Off For Mayor, Mason Incumbents Re-Elected


In the Brady City Council election, former Brady Mayor Tony Groves was defeated in his bid for the Place 4 seat on Council by first time candidate Felix Gomez, Jr.  In the balloting for the post, Groves received 143 votes in Early voting and 51 on Election Day for a total of 194. Gomez received 141 in Early voting and 77 on Election Day for a total of 218 to win the seat.

Gabriel Moreno was un-opposed for the Place 5 seat on the City Council.

The race for who will be the next Mayor of Brady will go to a Run-Off since none the four candidates running received more than 50% of the total vote.  The two candidates in the Run-Off will be Aaron Garcia who received a total of 176 votes, and James Griffin who received a total of 137 votes.  The date for the Run-Off election will be announced.

The other two candidates in the race for Mayor were Bob Fowler who received 66 votes, and Joe Sanchez who received a total of 30 votes.

The Special election for Mayor is to fill the unexpired term created by the resignation of former Mayor Tony Groves last January.  That term will expire in May of 2024.

In the Brady ISD election,  Reed Williams won re-election to the SMD 3 seat on the School Board with a total of 108 votes, He was opposed  by Charles Bush who ran as write-in candidate for the seat and received a total of 32 votes.


In Mason , there were  three contested races on the May 6 Local Election ballot.

Mason City Commission – Incumbent City Commissioner, Anna Velez, received 31 votes, defeating challenger Nicholas Gerisch who received 7 votes.

Mason ISD – The two incumbents , Jim Bob Smith and Kathryn Martin, both won re-election to the School Board.  Smith led the balloting with 667 votes, while Martin received a total of 339 votes. They were challenged by Donna Logan who received 260 votes and Chuck Kroll who received 93 votes.